Gloucester Day

Today was a celebration of the amazing history that is Gloucester City. Founded by the invading Romans (we still have Italian restaurants here) in the 50's AD. Called Glevum it progressed through to Gloucester although you will sometimes see it spelled as Gloster due to the difficulty with pronunciation by foreigners. E.g. Gloucester Aircraft Company (Bi-Planes, and jet trio Whittle E28/39, Meteor and Javelin) changed it's name to Gloster Aircraft Company for this reason. 
I have lots of photos but particularly liked the Punch and Judy man who's name, on the stand, is Tom Foolery. I said "Hello Tom, what's your real name?". "Tom" he replied - DOH!
On and off it poured with rain but with all of the stands, and as it was in the town centre the shops as well, everyone managed to shelter during the wet bits.
There were lots of stands including us, we attended with our bikes to support the Royal British Legion stand. I did buy a tombola ticket trying to win a soft toy tiger but won a Mr Kipling Manor Cake instead. I gave the cake away to a fellow biker and his wife as I'm still losing weight.
By the way, it was during July that I said I wanted to get below 13 stone. Well, I was 13st 4lb when I said that (85.1kg) and I did it and am currently 12st 12lb (81.9kg).
Extra photograph is my bike, friend Wilf's Triumph Rocket III and the RBL stand from the rear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.