A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

'What's up DUCK!?'

Day Three: on the Cheshire Canals

Today was the day. The Staircase Lock beckoned, but we just didn't want to play. The rain was teaming down, our tea was getting cold, but Step-Ma Jen, my Jen & I put on our full suit rain gear & trudged to work. We had one normal lock as practice & then it was the big one. We read the instructions, intently, & then cracked on. Even though the lock keeper was present, we needed no help & made our way up with no trouble. Phew! Hard to see how yesterday's ramshackle crew of roughens nearly sank a boat doing attempting the same.

The rest of the day we spent cruising with the Admiral on the tiller, the rest of the crew strewn about at various points throughout the boat. I'm sticking to the moto of 'an apple a day' (due to there being tons of fruit on board for some odd reason), whereas Jen's keeping to her moto of 'a nap-all day'. She seems to keeping to hers slightly better than me.

Once the rain had cleared, the sun came out. With it came the heron, the ducks, a brown cow standing in the canal giving us the 'what you staring at' look & an upside-down, dead, bloated sheep. Eventful!

I got the chance to take the helm again today. Getting the hang of it & practice makes perfect. I sailed us into the Mytton Arms, Hindford at the end of the day, so I was quite pleased with that, although I am a little annoyed that I lost concentration momentary through the final bridge, which was setting up to be plum perfect, & had to stop the boat so I didn't bash it against the side. Anyway, that's why I'm the Captain & Dad's the Admiral. We had a few drinkies at the pub & then went back to the barge for sups. Was a really nice evening & a fun day.

I am also aware that today is my 100th Blip. Hazar! It's been a fantastic first 100 days & I can't wait for the next 100! This canal trip has been the perfect way to spend my 100th Blip Birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.