Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Avocets in the pooring rain.

My 365th blip today so I wanted to make a special one today.
That idea combined with the latest hobby of my youngest son Daan, bird watching, resulted in this photo of four avocets during a fierce shower.

We watched them from a birdhide near Punt van Reide, polder Breebaart to be exact. Great fun to do. He brought his binocular and his book Europe's Birdguide with him.

Luckily the birds cooperated as well. They all showed themselves very well. Avocets, dunlins, ducks, northern lapwings, and even Eurasian spoonbills, we spotted them all.

Weather conditions quickly changed from bright sunlight to dark skies with heavy rain and back to sunlight again. I captured over 400 photos but choose this one of the avocets in the pooring rain.
It was a close call to the spoonbills though, so I added that one as an extra photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.