When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

Puppets and Masks

I managed to finish off the PhaseOne homework. So on Saturday I got a bit exploring under the belt. Our new flatmate chummed me and Riot up to a Saturday market in Brockley. There was a seriously baffling array of vegetables, including several types of Potato I'd never heard of before. That isn't particularly surprising to be fair. I don't spend a lot of time on Vegetables. A spud is a spud ken?

Just along the road from it was this bonkers shop/junkyard/Alladins Cave called Puppets and Masks. It was like something out of American pickers. I wonder if its really a business, or more of an excuse to justify someone's hoarding. Would be a great place for pictures. 

After that we took a wander up the hill to Hilly Fields Park, before heading down and back via, probably Brockley? (My geography is going to take some serious updating before I can say anything with any real certainty).

We had a flat viewing at 3. I won't dwell on it too much, but bloody hell. There are some ruthless Slumlord bastards out there. It wasn't cheap either! I think we're going to report them to the website they advertised on, as the pictures they used blatantly weren't from that property. For some reason, we did that polite smiling 'oh this is really nice, yes' thing. Then legged it as fast as possible. Next time I think I'll just say 'you are a horrible greedy scumbag. I wouldn't live here if you paid me'.

We felt we needed a drink after that horror show. So we grabbed a couple of beers and headed back to the flat. From the garden we could the unmistakable sound of D-beat blowing on the wind. We decided to head out and investigate. Turned out there was an event on in Fordham Park, with various stages set up and bands playing. Lots of punks. 

We stuck about for a while and caught the Discount Orchestra playing, before the Rain turned torrential and we headed home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.