life begins at...

By Sej

End of Empire

I loved this great piece of art titled 'End of Empire' by Yinka Shonibare, currently at the Turner Gallery in Margate - it was my favourite.

The installation is a metaphor for conflict, balance & negotiation. Set against the North Sea, one of the WW1's, main battle lines, the balance of power tips back & forth between two opulently dressed Victorian men sitting on a seesaw. Their globe heads show the areas of the world occupied during WW1 by the different empires.

I loved the 'Seeing Round Corners' exhibition too & the Turner Gallery is a welcome addition to the art world.

As for Margate I have mixed feelings. I really liked the old town, the rest of it I'm not so sure. It maybe Shoreditch by the sea as the newspapers like to describe but it's not quite for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.