Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

The 14:15 to Oxenhope

The sun was shining and I toyed with the idea of going to the Wartime Weekend in Holmfirth, but changed my plans at the last minute and headed over to the Keighley and Worth Valley Railway to check out the steam trains.

I arrived in warm sunshine and foolishly left my coat in the car. I had hoped to do the engine shed tour at Howarth, but I arrived too late so instead, I hopped on the Keighley-bound train and alighted two stops down the line at Oakworth.

On arriving, at what is one of the prettiest stations in the area, the heavens opened and, for the second day in a row, I ended up getting seriously drenched. The 14:15 up-line train was just pulling in so I jumped on and headed back to Oxenhope where I was forced to dry off in the station buffet with tea and Victoria sponge cake.

I drove back home over the moors towards Hebden Bridge hoping to catch the Red Arrows fly past as they headed back to RAF Scampton via Holmfirth and Chatsworth. Unlike Midge hole Dave who managed to expertly position himself against a stunning backdrop, I didn't give myself enough time to find the right location or camera settings so my best shot is in the extra.

Another walk over Norland this evening to notch up the 10,000 steps for the fitbit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.