Senate Passage

Having invested in a TS lens, I've set myself the challenge of creating a Cambridge based set - largely in a bid to make sure I use the thing.

However, TS lenses require tripods, and tripods require quieter streets than Cambridge has at more sensible hours... 

I was pleased with what I took this morning and then less pleased to discover basic composition flaws that I'd missed because I'd been too focused on the mechanics of using the lens/trying to achieve particular effects.  (Still, the buildings won't go away and K.C. chapel is not enhanced by having a fluorescent orange cherry picker tucked round the side.)

Despite all that, I have got two or three shots/compositions that I'm happy with, particularly this one.  The lens was shifted slightly to ensure that I got all the towers in.  Like all the shots I took today, I had to bracket the exposure and then merge them using the Nik software, which has pulled out all the detail in the stonework which would otherwise be in deep shadow. The colours are pretty much 'true' and I've cropped out an ugly road sign... 

Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.