MonoMonday:Memorable

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting MonoMonday this month.

I was trying to think of memorable things in my life and one that jumped to mind was my travels.

From a young age I always wanted to see the world and $5 from my very first pay packet went into my "travel fund" and at least that much from every one thereafter.

After completing nursing training I lived in England for 2 years and managed to see much of Europe and North Africa in between stints of hard work.
The highlight was travelling home to Australia overland from London to Kathmandu.

We visited southern Africa and spent another year in UK after getting married but then had 3 children and a small business for 20 years so that was the end of it for a while.

Now we are retired and cramming as much more travelling in as we can before we get too old and the insurers won't touch us.

We are still budget travelers (old habits die hard) but I have never regretted a cent spent and treasure such wonderful memories and appreciate how fortunate I have been.

Mr isbi pointed out this globe brings back memories too. 
It was a gift to him as a child and the names of many of the countries are also a distant memory (Abyssinia, Persia, Belgian Congo, Ceylon, French Indochina, Siam.....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.