Bom

By Bom

Mono Monday - Memorable

This is my Memory Box which I was adding a few things to today and thought would make a suitable entry for today's Mono Monday Challenge - MEMORABLE - thanks to Ingeborg for hosting.

This box, a bit larger than a shoebox, contains tickets from theatre trips, sporting events (largely Wimbledon), concerts (pop and classical), days out (such as my visit to Buckingham Palace last week), exhibitions, and special events (such as the two firewalks I've completed). I have a separate box with things like wedding and party invitations. 

I only have a look through it every few years, or if looking for something specific (such as putting in my blip how many times I've been to Wimbledon - 30 and only 1 of which was a washout). I'm sometimes surprised by things I've forgotten - such as when I blipped tickets when David Bowie died and realised I'd been to two of his concerts - not 1!

Most memorable sporting event - Andy Murray taking the gold medal at the Olympics in 2012, I never imagined I'd see a British player receive an Olympic gold medal in singles at Wimbledon and sing the National Anthem on Centre Court!
Most memorable concert - Queen at the Milton Keynes Bowl in 1982 - Freddie Mercury was a genius and I have the DVD to remind me.
Most memorable musical - the first time I saw Phantom of the Opera soon after it first opened with Michael Crawford in early 1987 (gosh that's nearly 30 years ago!)
Most memorable play - The Breath of Life in 2003, largely as for my 40th I paid for my sisters and a couple of friends to go to the Ritz for afternoon tea followed by this play with Dame Judi Dench and Dame Maggie Smith - they were mesmerising although the play itself was only average.
Most memorable exhibition - Leonardo Da Vinci at the National Gallery in 2011- I think he was an amazingly talented man.
Most memorable event - making and planting ceramic poppies with good friends at The Tower of London in 2014. You thought about the loss of a single life as you put together each poppy and planted it, then you looked up and saw thousands and thousands of them - so emotional.

I'm so glad I kept my tickets. As you can see, it's nearly full now - time to get another box!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.