Mono monday - memorable

Day 10 (Trans-Siberian day 2), my blip is my home for 4 nights and 3 days
Distance: at time of uploading, approximately 3000km from Moscow.

This trip is definitely memorable and my bunk in my cabin is somewhere that will be etched in my memory because of the amount of time I’ve spent here! We crossed the Ural mountains (although they’re more like hills) last night so I didn’t see anything and this morning we crossed into Siberia.

Today I learned to play a Russian card game, taught by an old Russian woman via a German woman who speaks a little Russian. There have been two stops where we’ve been able to get off the train. The kids from yesterday’s blip continue to jog up and down the platform and were doing a dance routine this afternoon too.

And especially for my Dad who’ll be reading this (and for anyone else who wonders how it’s possible to blip from a train in Siberia), here’s how it works: I bought a Russian sim card with a data allowance (it cost around £3.70), I edit the photo on my laptop and write the text on my laptop as it’s much easier than writing on my phone. I then transfer the photo and text document to my phone and wait for the train to get to an urban area where there is mobile phone reception and I try to upload it as quickly as possible before I lose the phone signal again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.