Mortice Gauge (Memories, MM137)

Most of our 'memory' pieces are in storage, so I have borrowed this mortice gauge from a friend as each time I see it I am reminded of my grandfathers.  They both worked with hand tools, one as a blacksmith, the other as a carpenter, so he would have used one of these tools for setting out joints.  I did learn to use one at school in woodwork although I much preferred building things with electronics.  One of my uncles was a carpenter and I could never quite fathom how he would mark out a piece of wood, with either a finely pointed marking gauge, or a blunt pencil,  cut the wood with a saw which had a set on it,  and the finished piece turned out an exact fit.  He did have the grace to point out he couldn't follow how I could fix the electrics on his car :-)

We are all good at something, and I guess by having a few varied experiences some of us find out what it is :-)   

In an effort to improve my photography I have gone back to basics and used my 50mm f1.8 lens, which is the same as the lens I had on my Pentax ME Super back in the early 80s.

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting the MM challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.