A little detour around a local field

Ann had spotted some fungi growing on the front lawn of one of the bungalows in the village, so I set out to investigate, which made a change from what I'd been doing.   She was right, there were lots of white fungi growing in the grass, most of them damaged, so I decided that I wouldn't knock on the door and ask to set up my photography gear.  Instead I took the path round the outer edge of Ayton Wood, which is a regular dog walking route, but not a path I use frequently.  First I encountered a very dodgy crossing over a stone wall and as I moved over it my head brushed an electric fence cable at head height , which I don't think was on, fortunately.  In the field with the cattle I spotted the very slender cone shaped fungi (in extra) - last year someone identified a similar one for me as possibly a milky conecap.  I then spotted the orange ones above which I think are wax caps (possibly Meadow Waxcap)  or more likely a Deceiver (with thanks to Penny Bun), there were quite a few of them about in the grass.  So all was not lost and I'll report the stile to the local footpath officer on the council, if there still is one.

p.s. what I forgot to say was that I also found two very neat round holes in the dead part of a sycamore tree, on the edge of the path.  I wonder if our woodpeckers nested here earlier in the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.