We are fortunate to be able to watch house martins swooping around in the local farm yard gathering mud to make their nests or swooping for insects.   We did have some nesting in our gable but regrettably they no longer do. While I was working in the garden this afternoon for about half an hour there seemed to be dozens of house martins flying very low down near the ground with some almost touching me in the garden.  I watched for a while then got my little camera but they were too quick.  About 25 settled chattering on the roof and I guess they were planning their migration to spend winter in Africa.
Even though it is a poor photo I will not forget the sight of these amazing little birds who will remember their way back here next May after travelling thousands of miles. 
So I thought this is an appropriate entry for MonoMonday – Memorable

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.