Mono Monday: Memorable

Looking back through photos from Sunday and it struck me how memorable the day turned out to be. The perfect entry for today's 'Memorable' Mono Monday theme (thank you for the challenge Ingeborg).

The formation training day, thrice cancelled due to weather, and a strong crosswind which led to bumpy conditions made for hard work for my team mates which felt all the more rewarding.

It was a memorable day as my team mates proved they have what it takes to be considered as display pilots and are well on their way to display in the 2017 season.

I sat in this single seat aircraft (D31 Rollason Turbulent) and controlled the throttle while it started up. The feel of the leather on the stick, the sound of the 1600cc engine and the heady smell of AvGas and engine oil gave me a longing to take her flying. I seriously need to get in some further tailwheel training and get airborne in one of these soon!

It was a particularly special day as the last chance to see one of my friends for six months as he is heading abroad for work in a couple of weeks' time. I'll remember the lovely day we had yesterday while he's away whenever I miss his banter and mickey taking!

So as one great friend leaves me for a while a new friend of mine is about to return to England in a few weeks' time. Time can't go quick enough when distance keeps friendships apart. All we can do is dream about all the happy memories and adventures we've shared and the many more that await us in the future!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.