Skyroad

By Skyroad

Cloud Dreaming

MAN ASLEEP IN THE SUN ON THE SEA WALL

Whether I'm dreaming these clouds or whether each cloud
is dreaming a different me, either way, I'm good. 

I've been meaning to get back to this for ages. I taled S into coming with me to Dún Laoghaire Prom after school to give Lola a walk. Baking hot, with lovely little steam-puff clouds in a blue sky. 

He protested that he hadn't done his homework and was too hot and tired.

I told him we'd do it in the car, like we'd done before.

'That was many years ago.' Yes, it was, but so what?

He relented after some grumbling. 

So I parked in that carpark beyond the old derelict baths and we did the homework. I wrote for him, as his left hand (he's a south paw) is still in a cast from a fracture he got from a fall last week. The maths homework consisted of five 'questions' but each one consisted in its turn of a series of up to eight sums. These were easy enough, addition and subtraction, but it was a LOT to plough through, given that the entire homework is supposed to take less than 40 minutes. 

Eventually we made it out into the sun, down the steps onto the slippery slimy path beside the sea, where I glanced up and saw this man making like a lizard. We emerged near the end of the prom and I took his hand as he leapt from rock to rock till we reached the exercise machines where he cycled for a short while and I threw some balls for our hyper-enthusiastic JR. 

Later, we took a short walk around the block, into the lovely mediterranean evening, one of the hottest days of the year. Good to see him striding ahead, easily out-walking his father. More of that.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.