LISTED BOX

To keep up the railway theme this week . . . this is Hensall Signal Box near Selby. It was built for the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway in 1875 and is one of only two in Yorkshire with a Grade I Listing for preservation. The other is shown here.
My extra is a Class 66 Diesel - 66117 – returning from taking a load of Biomass Fuel to Drax Power Station. The day improved when I got my first sighting of a Spotted Crake at North Cave Reserve.
Once again I apologise for my total lack of comments. I hope to catch you all tomorrow.

INFO BIT . . .
Hensall is a Type 1 Yardley Smith Signal Box, which is listed as only three examples survive. The other two are at Bromley Cross and Milner Royd Junction.
This box retains a reconditioned McKenzie & Holland lever frame of 10 levers installed in 1964 as a set of interlocked electrical switches. These are positioned to the rear of the box so that the operator faces away from the tracks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.