Marsupium Photography

By magi

polar coordinates rule - OK

Went up Blackford Hill at lunch time to shoot another panorama - this time a bit further SE from the main summit near the top of the quarry. My colleague accompanied me and since he hadn't been up the top for a while we checked out the trig point there. I was amused by the message drilled into the foundation of the trig point. Not sure what the connection is with polar coordinates as the UK uses UTM coordinates which are locally rectilinear. I guess you could have a polar coordinate system centered on Blackford Hill. More interesting is how the trig points where used for large scale triangulation in the days before GPS systems (until not that long ago). Anyway, Blackford Hill is one of my most favourite spots in Edinburgh with great views of the city.

The panorama is being computed and I suspect it'll take until tomorrow. It all nearly ended up in disaster when I deleted the photos of the SD card rather than copy them....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.