The magic of Christmas shopping

I headed out into London for an afternoon of shopping, deftly avoiding the high street altogether by combining visits to several markets in one area. Brick Lane, in the east end of London, is a street of curry houses, but it also has a vibrant market culture that I hadn't discovered until today. I passed this wizard selling mistletoe and dancing to the reggae beat of the market behind him, then almost ended up in a full-on club whilst trying to find a jumble sale. Hastily backing away from the dancing lads and lasses with their tinnies and funny-smelling cigarettes, I found the correct area of 93 Feet East where tables of jumble awaited rummaging to the very good tunes being spun by DJs on the stage. I had a great time! All items £1 for charity - a bargain.

Then I browsed the stalls in Upmarket followed by a wander in the Eco Christmas trade fair at Truman's Brewery. I, of course, had a look through the stalls at Spitalfields, but I preferred the Brick Lane atmosphere.

I came home bearing coconut cakes and several Christmas gifts. Success!

Oh, and I spotted a famous person - the actor who played Sanjay in Eastenders was also rummaging around at the jumble sale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.