Alberta

By Alberta

Lots of beans

This has a similar structure to the blip that I posted the other day but I wanted to explore focus some more (I have a long way to go!) and I have been working today so not much time to get out and about although we did go down to Luc's bar for a coffee and croissant this morning.. well to be accurate I had a pain au chocolat and my man had a pain aux raisins. However I did go down to our wood with Mr Alberta who had saved me a log to split but I could no more than dent it a few mms... He did admit subsequently that it was a much tougher log than he had anticipated having split it down the middle.. so he has been log hauling and stacking for most of the day (and that means bringing piles up from the wood which is quite a haul and doing that before our neighbour ploughs the field). I might stand a chance on the bike tomorrow as he could still be exhausted!! Not that we are competitive or anything!! A log stacking pic was the other option but maybe tomorrow.. the sky was so blue and these runner bean plants were so red against that I could not resist. And runner beans seems more topical with all the events on the Olympics at the moment (fingers crossed for Mo Farah) but ooh dreadful pun. Mr Alberta brings these bean seeds over from the UK or saves them as they are not normally grown here (not wet enough) but this year has been very wet (although the weather here is gloriously hot now) and they have thrived. One of our French neighbours was intrigued by these tall plants with red flowers! Scarlet Emperor I am told is the variety and they are flourishing so we are having beans every night.. I love them and hoping that my sweet corn (maize doux) will be ready soon to have with them. Never quite sure how to know for sure when the maize is ready but I guess we will find out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.