memento

By memento

Bucket fishing

There are minnows in there. He is convinced that if he stares long enough, they will move and he will see them. Thing is, there really aren't any.

A most glorious day broke over the shores. The breeze could best be described as stiff but it kept the sun-baked beach cooler and blew the pesky flies away. Our friends, who own this land and beach have grown accustomed to the cold water of Lake Superior, and think nothing of it to just leap right in and exclaim that the water "is very warm today". Hahahahaaa. It is fricking cold. Always. I did manage to walk into it up to my thighs, bend over and wash my grimy hair but I could not get myself to dunk my shoulders under.

Instead, I lounged in the shade of the steep sandstone bank, helped a favorite munchkin build face sculptures in the sand, watched the brave ones splash, and walked the water's edge to marvel at the smooth, tiny and multi-colored pebbles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.