stujphoto

By stujphoto

My first bee on the wing !!

As it has been a hot sultry day I thought I would try and capture some bees in the garden around our fuchsia bush. I took a few straight shots but then decided to try using 4K video capture to see if I could photograph one of the bees in flight. It was by no means easy as I was using the zoom at its maximum length of 600mm and so focussing on creatures who kept disappearing into the fuchsia flowers or behind them was difficult. I eventually managed to get a couple of sequences where the bee was caught in flight but maintaining focus on the bee was not easy. In the shot I have chosen to upload the common carder bee quickly flew away from the flower on which I was focussing but then re-appeared a few inches away but by luck was the same distance from the camera and therefore in focus. Definitely something worth further experimentation. Included is one of the still shots as it has a good frontal view of the bee including one of the compound eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.