Licensed to Chill

By 007Roo

Pembrokeshire Sheepdogs

Well I fulfilled an ambition today and I loved it.
When I was ten years old I went on holiday to Tenby with my parents and we stopped on a working farm, I would get up at the crack of dawn each day for two weeks and help bring in the cows for milking and then help feed the sheep and ride happily alongside the farmer on his tractor.

I was obsessed by anything to do with farming and had my own farm set with tractor and hay bales to play with along with toy cows, sheep and of course a border collie.

Well today I've been lucky enough to work along side a lady shepherdess and work 5 different dogs starting with a young dog of ten months working up to a master.

We started by rounding up pigmy goats( that was after they had been found rampaging the owners polytunnel) I was given the shepherds stick and taught commands, then we moved on to six sheep and finally a flock working two dogs at once.

I can't believe just how clever these dogs are and so willing to want to work.

I've had a brilliant day and Roo well he did a three mile plus coastal walk and is now snoring his head off.

I love the picture of myself and my collie pal his name was stone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.