Scribbler

By scribbler

Creative limits

Apple introduced the new iPhone today. 
Dual cameras! Optical zoom! Image stabilizing! Bokeh!

Color caught my eye in the single shot of the day.
A tree beside the library's yellow wall, glowing vibrant green against a deep blue sky in which perfect white clouds floated. 
Lower in the viewfinder, sharp shadows against the wall in beautiful afternoon sun.

I snapped with a sense of resignation, knowing I have committed to a month of mono. Knowing the shot would have been so much better on the latest iPhone 7 Plus with its dazzling improvements.

When I got my shot onto a large screen, I saw that there was no way my digital equipment could duplicate the vivid scene I had tried to capture. The translucent brilliant green of the leaves, the rich yellow of the wall, the stirring strong blue of the sky, all brighter in memory than on the screen.

Not only that, but how could I suggest all that thrilling color in b&w?

I edited the image to reproduce the color as perfectly as my equipment would allow.
Then I removed the color altogether and attempted to capture the effect the light had made on me. 
Fiddle and faff. Revise and discard.

Finally I cropped out the sky, the clouds, the whole top of the tree, letting go of the experience of the autumn tree in September sunshine, looking only for an interesting pattern of darks and lights. The result is this blip.

Photographers have taken brilliant shots with Brownies and pinhole cameras. It's not the fancy equipment that matters, but the creative eye. I make no claims for the product of my experiments, but I've ended up cleansed of lust for the latest and greatest. Willing to grapple a little longer with my iPhone's limitations. And my own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.