Better than the dog

Work today started out promising to be busy and difficult. The promise wasn't kept. The work was quickly sorted and the problems were dissipated in consequence. The registrar supervision session went well, and this evening I had my peer review group.

Between finishing registrar supervision and leaving work, and then heading out to the Peer Review group meeting, I went for a haircut. Heidi was tired and appeared distracted. But she did ask me if I had taken a photo today, and I remembered that I hadn't. She suggested I take a photo of her little dog which was sitting quietly in his basket. I did so. Later this evening I looked at it on the MacBook, and found that I must have moved the camera while taking the shot. So I took this photo of a much travelled Laughing Buddha.

We bought this during our first overseas trip, which started in Hong Kong. As we emerged from visiting the Tiger Balm Gardens, a street vendor offered us things to buy including this. Knowing that we were on the second day of a four week trip through Japan and the Soviet Union to England we were reluctant purchasers. The price was progressively dropped until we succumbed and bought it. S carried it in her luggage all the way to England, and it then returned to NZ with us, having not quite circled the world. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.