Walking The Old Course

While we're in this part of Scotland, I wanted to fulfil a long-held ambition to visit the home of golf, St Andrews.

No play is allowed on the Old Course on Sundays but, being municipal land, locals and visitors alike are free to walk the hallowed turf, so we took the opportunity to stroll down the first and second holes and back up the seventeenth and eighteenth.

All I needed for the fantasy to be complete was to be actually playing the holes but, given the waywardness of my game at the moment, it was probably as well for the safety of the good people of the town that I wasn't!

This is a shot of the notorious 17th, the Road Hole, with it's narrow green and pot bunker and, beyond that, the 18th fairway with the Swilcan Bridge crossing the burn. Like everyone else, I had to stop and pose on the bridge. (See Extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.