Consolation prize

This wood-fired oven pizza was my treat to myself after a totally shitty day thus far (it ain't over yet, so it could get worse...). I felt bad for the guy because I was sweating bullets just standing on the other side of the counter from that oven, on a day when outside temps once again reached 100. 'nuf already!

I was supposed to get a golf lesson this morning but my daughter's car (parked in front of mine in our driveway) died, so here I was stuck at home.

I called a friend of mine to help get me to my early afternoon appointment with the folks designing our walk-in closets, but when I got there, the store was closed. The person I was meeting with said she'd sent me text messages to alert me to that. When I checked my phone, I realized my cell carrier had had an outage and I could neither receive nor send messages.

Back home I went, where a workman is fixing some things around the house (in anticipation of our leaving). I enlisted him and my chauffeur friend to help push my daughter's car out of the driveway and use the gravity of our descending road to nudge it onto the street. None of us realized that when a car has no power, it's like a lump of rock and nothing responds (brakes, steering wheel, etc..), so I ended up half crashing the car onto the sidewalk, facing the wrong way on the street. I'll be lucky if I don't get towed or ticketed before I can get someone over to look at it. 

So these were my first four hours of the day. Can't wait to see what else happens...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.