Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Brick Lane Blipmeet

Today we had a superb Blipmeet in and around Brick Lane, in the East End of London. Some amazing sights, sounds and smells (particularly smells; my mouth was watering all the time!) and some fascinating street artwork/graffiti all around. I'm no fan of graffiti in 'inappropriate' places but here it is part of the landscape and community and in the main, skilfully done.

After a walk around the streets we ended up at the Nomadic Community Garden in Shoreditch which was equally interesting, particularly as we watched two artists at work and stopped for drinks at the garden cafe. I had to leave to catch my train home (which broke down at Watford making a 35 minute journey last two hours) but by the looks of Facebook the rest of the Blippers are now tucking into a Brick Lane curry!

I will sort out my photos and in the next couple of days put some onto Flickr for those who are interested. The Blippers involved today were Black Tulip and her husband John, Hildasrose and her husband Rob, CoffeePotter, Lesley Aylsford, Chantler63, Rosiecatwoman, 58Daisies, Ladypop, Maurice1948, AH14 and Nicoiseannie. Apologies if I've missed anyone but I took this from the sheet we completed over lunch!

EDIT: Link to the Flickr pictures here: https://flickr.com/photos/10435524@N07/sets/72157670380983153

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.