Small Places

By PicLocata

Slow-worm

For this day's walk we caught the bus back to Runswick Bay, and made a circuit via Newton Mulgrave and Oakrigg Wood to Staithes, returning along the coastal Cleveland Way.

Near Oakrigg Wood we came across this slow-worm (a legless lizard) on the track. It's only the second one I have ever seen, and the other one was badly injured. See my extra photo for a view of the whole animal - I think this one is a female.

My other extra photo is a view of beautiful Staithes from a nearby clifftop. We thought it was even nicer than Runswick Bay or Robin Hood's Bay.

Once again the sun shone all day; we have been really lucky with the weather this holiday. I could easily have posted a week's worth of blip from today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.