I was sitting...

...on my wooden swing today, swinging to and fro as I was doing some hand sewing, when I noticed in front of me a spider in the process of making his web.

As I sewed I watched him put in the support structure for his web. I have no idea how he did it in such a high wind. It was a massive web. The wind was quite blowy so he then added some additional long threads. Then suddenly after a big gust of wind he dropped like a stone to the ground, and he came back up a new strand which he had anchored to a leaf.

The web was more stable now. And then he began doing the round and round bits. I was hand sewing for about two hours, and he still hadn't finished his web when it was time for me to go out. The actual web itself, to catch flying things, was at least two and half feet across, if not more. He was a big spider...

I tried to take some pics of him before I went out as he was still building the web, but the wind was blowing and he was being swung back and forth and I do only have an iPhone, so trying to focus on him was difficult. So this was my best effort. It was riveting watching him make such a massive web.

When I returned his web was in shreds, but it did look as though he had caught some flies because there were remains of little black 'parcels'. So maybe it was worth the effort!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.