Green Eyes?

I headed out to our local Butterfly House this afternoon, since I didn't get an early start (and the sun was harsh) and it is only open until September 25. When I arrived I discovered it closed early today due to the extreme heat.  It was 94 degrees, before considering the humidity.  So I had to switch gears and take a few quick shots in the hot sun.  I was intrigued by the green eye in this bee.  I had only seen black eyes before.  He was either green with envy of the beautiful Clearwing Hummingbird Moth nearby, the heat brought out this interesting color, or it was a reflection.

Thank you for all of the wonderful, encouraging comments on my 300th blip yesterday of a hummingbird.  The blipfoto community has become an important part of my daily life, not to mention the wonderful friendships developed during blip meets.  I get out there every day (or almost) in large part because of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.