Eleanor Friedberger

It was a real thrill to see Eleanor Friedberger play a wonderful gig at the Arts Club tonight!

After 11 years, and almost as many albums, in cahoots with her brother Matthew, in The Fiery Furnaces, she's recently been forging a rather brilliant solo career - her 3rd solo album, 'New View', was one of my albums of last year.

She's currently over from the USA to play some shows/festivals with a stripped-down band featuring her on guitar with a drummer and bassist/second guitarist. They were on fine form tonight and played a goodly selection of songs from 'New View', including this one... www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRH1SJlvR8A as well as tunes from her previous solo albums (such as this absolute corker! www.youtube.com/watch?v=74-iyAoMa6Y ), a Cate Le Bon cover and even a smattering of the Fiery Furnaces ouevre. I planted myself down at the front and was enthralled throughout.

Afterwards, I had a chat with the woman herself and she was game/patient enough to let me take some pictures. If you haven't encountered her music before I can thoroughly recommend it!

(I've added a couple of extra photos from the gig itself.)

Setlist:

He Didn't Mention His Mother
When I Knew
Your Word
Early Earthquake
Evergreen (Fiery Furnaces)
My Mistakes
Single Again (Fiery Furnaces)
Because I Asked You
All Known Things
Benton Harbor Blues (Fiery Furnaces)
Does Turquoise Work?
A Long Walk
Stare at the Sun
Love Is Not Love (Cate Le Bon)
Sweetest Girl
I'm Gonna Run (Fiery Furnaces)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.