Hi Vis

Historic Scotland's astonishing transformation of the derelict Engine Shed at Forthside into a centre for building conservation. It's not going to be finished till the autumn and not open properly till next spring but today it was being prepared for Doors Open this weekend. As I'm off on holiday tomorrow I'm going to miss the chance to see round the building but I managed to plead successfully for a peep behind the keep out barriers. It was touch and go and not helped by the dog eating one of the contractors sandwich right out of his hand ... but in the end I was allowed a wee look. It's a wonderful design combining the original Victorian building and two very modern extensions of which you can see one here.

In other news I sent off the latest draft of the report I've been writing and I won't see it again till I'm back on 19th. Such a relief to get it away, even though it's far from perfect. Now I can give some thought to packing. Hand luggage only which is going to be a bigger challenge than writing said report.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.