Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Confrontation

As you can see, we've still got hummingbirds in the garden - at least 4 today that I could count.  And the chasing and fighting has not abated one bit.  Honestly, you'd think that there was a nectar shortage here - although with 4 feeders still out plus loads of flowers, there's no danger of starvation.  I think the crankiness is just in their nature.  I was lucky to get this shot - I was focusing on the hummer in the foreground as it perched on a twig, flaring it's tail.  As I was firing off a burst, the second hummer zoomed in and I managed to get two shots with both of them.  The other shot is Here on Flickr - just before the moment of impact.  A short while later, I caught one of them sharing a zinnia with a bumble bee.

I released Monarchs #48 and 49 (female and male, respectively) this morning, both of them having eclosed by the time I got downstairs this at 7:30. Number 50 should be ready to come out in a day or two.  And 5 of my remaining 7 cats are doing their walkabouts while the last two continue to eat and poop.  

I found a couple of fun things on the buddleia today...a gorgeous Ailanthus Webworm Moth which looks more like a colorful beetle than a moth; and a crafty little northern flower crab spider hiding in the spent blossoms, waiting for a meal to come along.  

Another hot, sticky day today so I'm limiting my time outside.  Should start to cool off a bit tomorrow.  The warm temps this week have been good for caterpillars but not so much for humans.  

Happy Friday, people.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.