Somerset Cottage

Not in Somerset, England but Mahana/Upper Moutere, New Zealand.
An original settlers cottage that has been lovingly restored by descendants of the Bensemann family who came from Somerset.
You can go inside and see the rooms with furniture and models dressed in clothes of the 19th century.
The thatch is nowadays an artificial thatch from South Africa. A fraction of the price and lasts longer. I'm sure the ancestors would have approved the practical steps taken.

I was trying an Emma Davies exercise for extreme depth of field where the aperture is as small as possible. Here it is F22. I thought it was going to be too dark and I did have to lift the exposure a bit but otherwise quite happy with it. I didn't have to use the tripod either.

An extra to show the gate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.