One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Baby brother discovery day

Today was the first genuine opportunity for Luca and Mimi to discover the "thing", the "yoke", the baby brother, Finnicky Finn (not quite so finnicky, he has taken to the boob like a Fianna Fail fundraiser to cash donations...)
Overall they were very good.
I am not kidding myself, I know that this extra sibling will mean less individual attention for the Luca and Mimi.
And at the end of the day, that's what young kids crave most. Not the toys, the clothes, the TV shows or the video games.
And they are bound to resent this rather sudden decrease in dedicated "Mummy/Daddy and me" time.

Luca has been through the whole process once already and seems to have forgotten just how painful it was. Or at least he is not holding any grudges.
Mimi is experiencing it for the first time. My only glimmer of hope is that I can sense that spark of maternal instinct in her, in that little mama of just 21 months.

I'm off to bed know. This first day of "business at home as usual" with an extra kids is both thrilling and scary. Will we find all the energy required?

Other activities were organised throughout the day:
Sneeze on the baby
Slap the baby
Smother the baby.

As I said, it's all looking good...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.