Woodleywise

By woodleywise

Nupton

Many years ago my soon-to-be wife and I drove through Northampton on route to somewhere. "Never bring me to live in a place like this" she famously said.

A few years later I got a job at the the OU in Milton Keynes and she got a job with Northampton Development Corporation. The latter entitled us to rent a brand new 3 bed Development   Corporation house. Luxury!

Forty years on and we are still in Northampton. 

I think I have a love/hate relationship with the town.

On the down side the council have succeeded where the Luftwaffe failed. Virtually all historical and interesting buildings have been knocked down and replaced with modern monstrosities.

On the plus side it is unpretentious. I think this photo captures its essence well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.