Swans on the River Tyne, East Lothian

I was completely confused this morning when I bounced into the kitchen to pop the kettle on and discovered that the clock said 03:40! Having already enjoyed a 'lie-in' for about an hour I expected it to be some time around 07:30 at the very earliest.

Since I was wide awake anyway I decided that I might as well make the most of the early hours. I fired up the computer in the study and worked on a journal article. One of my colleagues is going to be very pleased (and somewhat surprised) when I present a final draft of our manuscript to him on Monday :-)

As soon as Mr hazelh finally dragged his bones out of bed (at the disgraceful time of 08:00!) we made plans for a cycle ride. Just after 10:00 we headed out to East Lothian for a 46 mile loop to Haddington and back, with a break for a soup and toastie lunch and a quick zip around the charity shops. I blipped the swans on the River Tyne just after lunch.

I am typing this at 16:45, absolutely worn out. I am seriously thinking about changing into my pyjamas as soon as my blip is posted...

Exercise today: 46 mile tandem ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.