A Seafood Celebration

It's been an interesting and rather bizarre couple of weeks, with lots of things happening, featuring quite a few ups and downs. My mother-in-law invited us to dinner at Red Lobster in Altoona, her treat, to celebrate the good stuff, including my 30-year anniversary at Penn State. And what a delicious meal we had!

I ordered the snow crab dinner, which featured a pound of tender crab legs and two sides. I am not sure I've ever done this before, but I selected a baked potato with butter, sour cream, and sea salt as each of my sides.

I asked that they bring the crab legs a half-pound at a time, as it takes time to crack them and eat them, and I wanted to eat them while they were still warm. So this photo represents just half of the crab legs I ate. A cheddar bay biscuit appears to the right. Not pictured: a garden salad with ranch dressing.

Of course, I couldn't eat all of the baked potatoes, though I did do justice to the crab legs, which were tender and juicy and sweet; quite nommalicious, especially when dipped in melted butter. But fortunately, I had brought along some containers, and I put the leftover baked potato goodness in them.

My husband ordered the wood-grilled peppercorn sirloin steak, a skewer of shrimp, a baked potato, and brussels sprouts, along with his salad with ranch and cheddar bay biscuits. (He has insisted that I include a photo of his meal in the extras, so I have added it there.)

He said that everything he had was delicious. My mother-in-law had the crab linguini. And somehow we all ended up with a little something left to take home for later. It was a fine celebration, indeed.

The song: Kool & the Gang - Celebration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.