Benny

This brilliant, resourceful, big-hearted young man is Benny Justice. He was one of the speakers at the “teach-in” held yesterday in solidarity with prisoners all over the USA who are striking to end prison slavery. Benny and other speakers at the teach-in are part of justice organizations in Portland, including the All African People’s Revolutionary Party, Black Lives Matter, the Marilyn Buck Abolitionist Collective, and Showing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ). They talked about the ways prisoners in the US are exploited, about for-profit prisons, about the injustice of the so-called justice system. After the teach-in there was a march, but by then I was worn out, so I missed it. A number of anarchists showed up for the march and one was arrested. More photos of the Teach-In are here, if anyone wants to see them. The first in that series was almost my blip, but I felt the love in Benny’s face reflected the purpose of the teach-in better than the masked anarchist with his flag.

Thank you for your responses. I didn’t feel well today, but I hope to get back to my irregular responsiveness tomorrow, although there is another rally scheduled tomorrow, and I will go if I can. 


After much international elation at the good news of the Obama administration’s move to limit pipeline activity in the sacred land of the Sioux people, I came across this well-written blog expressing cautious cynicism. I’m not sure I entirely believe it, but it has the ring of truth to it. The struggle for the earth has not yet been won, and though we need good news occasionally, we can beware of authorities that come bearing gifts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.