Academical

After the excitement of the night before, I took a while to nod off and it wasn't exactly an early rise. No sooner had breakfast been scoffed than I was off at taxpayers' expense to meet my old chum MrDuffy at the Grosvenor for a beer and a chinwag about our dear departed pal, SM. A great catch up and we were joined by AJ - the first old firm league game in years was quite incidental.
So then the three of us legged it up to Tynie where Hearts were brilliantly dominant and ran Accies off the park. Except it was still 0-0 going into the second half. As is usual, Accies went one up with their first kick of the ball. The 'coach' (indeed, aptly named) sitting next to me had 3-1 on his coupon and was the calmest man in the ground. And so it ended - 3-1 to us - the Hearts team are off camera cavorting following the third.
So it was a couple of beers and homeward. Just a shame that I missed the connecting bus by seconds and had to wait another 14 minutes. That Mathers Bar is so much friendlier than the bus stop. I met Eric - a Stockport County fan. Fancy that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.