The Phoenix Rises

By sheilaM

A retiring me

I had a ball at my retirement ceilidh.

The handmade cake, done by a lady in Dundee who Ru did a website for, was a lovely surprise and very tasty it was too. Just as well as I didn't get any of my stovies or Big Al's veggie chilli as I was too busy enjoying myself.

A few friends couldn't make it, but Evelyn Forrest did, at the age of 87. She is the mother of Lynda, who Al lost in a climbing accident when she was 51. She is still part of the family and made my night even more special for agreeing to come and to dance with me.

All my work colleagues that came, friends old and new and my Ally, Ru, Gav, Evi and Nicki, the Big bro Al and family, nieces, nephew and everyone else. Thank you all for being a part of my mad night and raising £ 121.50 for my bro David's charity Himalayan Initiatives with the coin roll.

I am a tad tired, but very happy in my retired state, but of course still have a little work left in me. Watch this space.

As aye

XS.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.