Artificial Gravity...

I can't remember how it popped into my head but ever since it did, I've been spending my spare thinking time on the effect of artificial gravity. This is where a spacecraft or installation in zero gravity space spins to create artificial gravity.

I started looking up articles on it and all I've come across simply state that the spinning simply creates centrifugal/centripetal force which creates the gravity like downward force. I'm not so sure and I'm yet to be convinced it's that easy. Consider a large hamster ball in zero gravity. A person or object is suspended in zero gravity in that wheel. The wheel starts spinning. I'm pretty sure from the persons frame of reference, the wheel will start to spin around them and they won't budge. Most things I've read so far say the centrifugal force would push them to the outside of the wheel but I don't think they'll get that gravity effect until they make contact with the edge of the wheel where upon the spinning motion will impart the forces giving them that gravity like push to the outside. Come to think of it... If you pushed off from the outside of the spinning wheel you would just continue ue until you met the other side.

I may have more reading to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.