Old Stirling Bridge

Early breakfast and on the road up to the Stirling Castle, much to early like 30 minutes. 
We took a wander around the adjacent cemeteries – and rather randomly I found a headstone with my mother’s maiden name.  I’ve taken a photo of it and will give to my cousin who is doing the family tree.   
The hour and half spent at the Stirling Castle could well have been the whole morning.  So much to see and read – a real history lesson, but time meant that the museum parts had to be quicker than we would have liked.  A great castle, strategically placed on a high knob with 360 degree views to watch for the enemies (which there were many it seems).
 
We then went in search for the Old Stirling Bridge (Ella on the dash was very helpful) – so pleased we found it as it is beautiful, and I was very lucky with the light.  I’ve chosen it for my blip.

Then off to do the Falkirk Wheel boat trip – amazing and again so pleased we went back to do the tour.

We are now in Edinburgh, only half an hour drive from Falkirk (near Stirling).  We are staying right by the Royal Mile, Wales outside to the sounds of the pipes, definitely in Edimburgh. We have walked it a couple of times, enjoyed a meal sitting outside as darkness fell.


No extras tonight – I must have an early night and its now just past 10.30 pm.

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.