The Way I See Things

By JDO

Mono Monday: Traditional

Here in the Heart of England we're surrounded by more tradition than you can shake a stick at, so I was rather spoiled for choice today. I could have photographed traditional buildings without even leaving the village, but I was in the mood to be out and about so off I zoomed to Baddesley Clinton, a few miles north of Stratford-upon-Avon.

I do like a nice moat. In fact, I rather fancy having one myself. I can't think of a more effective way of saying "the inhabitants are unsociable" than digging a trench around your house and flooding it - unless it's stocking the water with carnivorous amphibians. A drawbridge might be a step too inconvenient - an attractive fixed bridge like the one here would be fine, I think - but I'd probably have a portcullis as well, just to be on the safe side.

Where's my shovel.......?

There's more about this lovely house here and here. Many thanks to Ingeborg for hosting this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.