The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Olympic Shot

I have to confess something. I am an Olympic addict. Ever since I can remember, I have been obsessed with watching the Olympic games. Winter, Summer. You name it, I'm watching. In fact, I once ordered the "Olympic Triple Play," back when NBC didn't have sister stations. (A tremendous flop, for those who remember.)

This year, most of my family has joined in. We made popcorn on two occasions, and swore we wouldn't tell of the results - even though we spoiled it for one another on more than one occasion. (Less stressful that way.)

Unfortunately, my entire family has been sick with a nasty flu virus for the last few days, and for me, this shot glass of red medicine has become a nightly ritual.

I am on the mend, but insisted on "taking my medicine," a la Jack Nicholson, in a 2002 Olympic Shot Glass. Somehow, it tasted far better than in the plastic cup that came with the bottle of vile tasting liquid.

It may be the Summer Games, but my heart will always be with the Winter Olympics, and the antics of skiers and ice skaters, and biathletes, and curlers, and
lugers, and bobsledders, and snowboarders, and Bob Costas.

Today, Misty and Kerri won their 3rd gold, and I sneezed at least 20 times. It may not be an Olympic record, but I'm finally feeling better.

Cheers!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.