Blue Planet Photography

By blueplanetphoto

Phil

So, it's been a while. Been working on trying to work. That's as hard as working (well, harder, if you ask me). Also completely redesigned my website. I'm not back on a regular basis. Still lots to do. But, thought I should pop in to let you know I haven't disappeared altogether.

An interesting photo day today. I offered to help a friend (who has done some make-up work for a couple of my shoots) photograph a project of hers. Kind of a Goth meets cocktail party affair. We had arranged to photograph a group in a historic, used-to-be Governor's home (now a bed and breakfast), but when I went there a few days earlier on another matter I found out the room where were were going to shoot now had a huge Christmas tree taking up a good portion of the space. Not very Goth.

So, she found another location, the upstairs room of a coffee house. We had a look over the place a couple days before the scheduled shoot. A bit modern, but better than nothing. The place was supposed to be open at 9am, the subjects were supposed to arrive shortly after 10, and we only had until 2 to get the shoot completed, with 10 models.

Last night it snowed. This morning it was snowing. The roads were slick. Not enough to bring the city to its knees, though. Inconvenient only. I was at the coffee hour at just before 9. 9:15, the place is still closed. 9:30 nothing. Can't get in touch with anyone. 10:00, a change of location to Phil's house, a place I've photographed in once before. So, over to his house I go. An hour to determine where I want to shoot, set up lights to accommodate individuals, small groups of 2 - 3 and the whole gang. Pretty tricky. I didn't get the effect I was looking for. Trying to set a single set up to cover too many different situations.

12:30, got started, had to be out at 3. Only 6 of the 10 models showed up; one was deported, another was in the hospital, a third showed up for hair, but never made it to the location. I don't know what happened to the fourth.

So, this is Phil. A great guy. Worked in the theater for many years, builds props, loves to dress up as Dracula (year round), every Halloween has a fire breathing dragon in his front yard (it broke down this year).

I thought he looked more like a diplomat than a vampire today, so had him pose more formally. A bit of desat in Photoshop and some other small adjustments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.