“Life is what happens to us while we are making other plans.” 
― Allen Saunders (1899-1986)

Left home mid morning to work on my master's thesis in the quiet of the teachers' lounge in an empty school. Only it wasn't quiet.  Within the hour Robin and I were repeatedly disturbed by the far away but unmistakable sound of a kitten in distress.  Eventually we found this wee mite, about three weeks old, abandoned on the small balcony above the maths office.  I called security for help, and one of our wonderful maintenance crew climbed out the window, dropped down to the balcony several feet below, picked up kitty, climbed part of the way back up and handed me the kitten before he then more or less catapulted himself back through the window - ought to audition for Cirque du Soleil - and now I had a screaming bundle in my hands.  Soon afterwards, with a syringe from the health centre and egg yolk mixed with milk, some feisty kittenish wriggly manoeuvres and pitiful cries and then finally,  I had a quiet and snoozing kitten in a box.  After pretending to work for a while, and finally abandoning thesis around 16.00, we went first to Robin's vet who was unable to help and then to Akmerkez shopping mall (amazed it was open today, first day of the Religious holiday) - I stayed outside with Kit while Robin bought feeding bottle and powdered kitty milk. Back home and some time was spent, unsuccessfully, placating kitty. Evening wore on and Kitty settled into my old woolly hat and had dinner of bottled kitty milk and cream cheese on finger before falling asleep.  This is the only photo I took today, just before bed time.  Exhausted and very little academic work achieved - but what were we supposed to do ?  Saga continues tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.