Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Lizardii

Common sun skink - Eutropis multifasciata balinensis

What is the plural for lizard! I guess such a word has little use, as it is so rare to see two at the same time.

After a week that arguably resulted in six of my best ever blips, one starts to let the accolades go to your head and suffer delusions of grandeur. Your expectations become higher and you start turning down shots like butterflies begging to be blipped at eye level. Well, the blip monster has a quick cure for this - he gives you sod all! I returned to the lab and the meager handful of images that I had collected, all ended up in the recycle bin.

You would think that I learned my lesson a couple of weeks ago when I went through a bad attitude phase, but apparently not! It was most unreasonable to expect to maintain this level of quality blips, after all, huge helpings of good fortune were involved. I padded up again and went straight out for another session.

Near the beginning of my regular safari route, there is a large pile of rubble. This is home to countless lizards which I have largely ignored so far. After capturing such exotic lizards such as the green crested lizard, the humble skink just seemed hardly blipworthy. So, my punishment for slipping back into a bad attitude, was to lie down in the dirt and wait.

The blip monster recognized my attempts at reform and did not make me wait too long. A little bit of shuffling to align the lizards and I bit my lip rather than curse the light, after all, I chose the location! I thought about using flash, but figured that I would lose the background lizard and so did not want to take that chance with the initial shots. There were no second chances as the lizardii soon vanished.

Having gratefully accepted my blip gift for the day, I moved on to the bee location, in the hope of capturing an image with a few more pixels. I figured that if I could get close to half a screen that it would make a great competition image. The bee was there, but as I moved in for a closer encounter, the bee vanished. After ten minutes I got another opportunity, but the same happened again. I will try again in a few days and be a bit more subtle on my approach.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.