A cereal crop at Stancombe Beech farm

I watched big storm clouds brewing in the southern sky so headed off to the farm shop near Bisley before the possible deluge. I rushed my shopping, with only a quick conversation with the people working there, but decided to head down a farm track to see if I could catch a seed head from the cereal crop that was likely to be harvested imminently.

The wind got up once I'd parked and the sky became very dark, so that it was tricky to get a still shot of this ear of the unknown seed heads. I thought they must be barley, which I know the farm grows each year, but I'm not sure now.

When I got home the rain started and the thunder began.  It wasn't long before a huge flash of lightning was followed immediately by a massive clap of thunder, so I unplugged the electrical equipment.  A few minutes later Helena rang from work asking me to unplug the router, as we had our last one nuked by a lightning flash whilst we were away on holiday. Great minds think alike.

I must get on with some work, but the atmosphere is very strange and the day very warm and humid. Is this the last of the summer?  I hope not.

Many thanks to dbifulco for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.