Hopeton01

By Hopeton01

Wedding Splendour . . .

I was not a guest at this wedding of an Asian couple in Northampton but I was a passer-by lucky enough to have a camera at hand. The colours of the outfits were as vibrant as the day was bright; the several minutes that I saw reminded me of the first Hindu wedding I'd attended back in 1989.

Anjay - one of my closest friends all the way through primary and secondary school had invited me to his special day which proved to be memorably rich in symbolism as well as in colour.

One example of a cultural symbol was the ceramic jar placed outside the door of the ceremony hall. It was ceremoniously smashed by Anjay, the groom, to represent his taking over the responsibility of his new bride in place her parents  in whose care she had been up to that point.

I do not know the family in my blip but my well-wishes extend to them as much as to my dear friend all those years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.